Doctoral Symposium

Schedule for 1 June 2016

Location: Tierney Building, Room T3.001 (3rd floor)

Time Description
09:00-09:15 Arrival / tea & coffee
09:15-09:30 Opening
09:30-10:00 Steffen Küpper: The Impact of Agile Methods on the Development of an Agile Culture – Research Proposal: The Agile Evolution
10:00-10:30 Lukas Pradel: Quantifying the ramp-up problem in software projects
10:30-11:00 Coffee break
11:00-11:30 Ann Barcomb: Episodic Volunteering in Open Source Communities
11:30-12:00 Mehvish Rashid: Remedying Knowledge Loss in FLOSS (Free/ Libre Open Source Software)
12:00-13:00 Lunch
13:00-13:30 Jean Petric: Using different characteristics of machine learners to identify different defect families
13:30-14:00 Bruno Cartaxo: Integrating Evidence from Systematic Reviews with Software Engineering Practice Through Evidence Briefings
14:00-14:30 Suchismita Hoare: A study of the state-of-the-art of PaaS Interoperability
14:30-15:00 Afternoon break
15:00-15:30 Solomon Gizaw: Personalised Technical Support for text-based interactions: a validation study
15:30-16:00 General feedback from the panel and round-up of the day

Goals and Scope

The goal of the EASE Doctoral symposium (DS) is to provide PhD students an opportunity to share and discuss their goals, methods and results of their research. During the DS students will give a presentation of their current progress. Experts in empirical software engineering will provide students with feedback on their research, allowing students to ask questions about how they can overcome obstacles or enhance their current research proposals.

The scope of research topics of the DS is the same as for the main conference. Therefore, we invite research proposals relating to issues in empirical software engineering and their application in software development practice. Submissions may discuss any aspects of empirical and evaluation research in software engineering. Students who submit a proposal to the DS should have decided on a research topic, and have a proposal for an appropriate research method. Preferably, students should be at least a year from completion of their research in order to be able to incorporate the feedback obtained during the symposium into their dissertation.

Submissions must follow the same formatting instructions as for the main conference and use the ACM Proceedings Template.

Chairs of the Doctoral Symposium

Dr. Tracy Hall and Dr. Nathan Baddoo will be chairing the doctoral symposium.


The Doctoral Symposium Panel consists of:

  • Professor Ita Richardson, University of Limerick
  • Professor Marcela Fabiana Genero Bocco, University of Castilla-La Mancha
  • Dr Steve Counsell, Brunel University London.
Clef two-factor authentication